Friends with Benefits {It’s Not What You Think}

I’ve been thinking lately. Well, I think too much. {All the time.} But lately, the theme of my thoughts has been surrounding the idea of relationships.

///

✧ Relationship with myself.

✧ My relationship with nature.

✧ And relationships that I desire, but don’t yet have.

///

Self

fullsizeoutput_153d

I’ve been discovering the many benefits of befriending myself. Who knew that solo coffee dates could be so fulfilling? Instead of seeking out the attention from a man {yes, sometimes my daddy issues arise} I’m spending more time with myself. And it feels just about as good as this coffee tastes. Which is really good.

Nature

On the subject of nature ~ the new greenery sprouting from Santa Barbara soil is certainly a “high” point of my weekend. I took a weekend trip to get away from the ordinary and take sometime to look within {and also check out some pretty neat surroundings.}

img_8343

img_8346

Desire

Sometimes I say to myself, “this moment would be so nice shared with someone.” Like when I’m on a hike. When I cook alone. Or cuddle on the couch with a blanket and flip on some Netflix.

Honestly, I never thought I’d be 29 and single.

I look around me, and lately the only thing I see are:

✧ smiling, lip locked couples

✧ cute babies

✧ and ring fingers weighed down by one shiny ass, insensitive rock

But…I realize that my desire for a dream guy is normal. And the desire need not be rushed. If I rush the dream guy, I’ll most likely end up with the guy, without the dreamy factor. Or worse yet, I’ll end up with only a dream and no guy. {Which would be closer to a nightmare.}

I’d rather wait {and wait, and wait} for someone who is my equal. And in the meantime, I’ll be enjoying the benefits of alone time and breathing in the beauty of nature.

img_7445

♥ Bethany

Leave a Reply

