DIY Chalkboard with Dumpster Dive Find

I work for a really fun kitchen remodeling business, Mr. Cabinet Care. They recently were voted the #1 Kitchen Remodeling Company by People’s Choice in the OC Register for 2014. (Thanks for letting me brag.)

Every week, our woodworkers at Mr. Cabinet Care are forced to throw out custom-made cabinet doors due to measurement issues or clients who changed their minds unexpectedly. Because I am a dumpster dive fanatic, it’s nearly impossible for me watch these perfectly beautiful cabinet doors be hauled away to the junk yard. So, instead, I have decided to rescue and recycle them for a whole new use – home decor!

DIY chalkboard

This DIY project was so simple! I just painted the recessed part a bright blue chalk board paint from Martha Stewart and let dry. I repeated two more times to ensure complete coverage – and I’m so thrilled with how it turned out. Now I can use it to write daily quotes or inspiring ideas, like this:

white chalkboard

Waking up to words that encourage me toward love is a great way to start my day.

I also like experimenting with different color combos. Instead of keeping this cabinet door white, I painted with a soft blue and paired it with grey chalkboard paint. I’m looking forward to inviting friends over for dinner and welcoming them with this cute display.

chalk board

Hope you enjoyed my little project,

Bethany Michaels

Follow me: You can keep up with my beautiful, weird, crazy life on Instagram, Twitter, and Pinterest too. 

2 thoughts on “DIY Chalkboard with Dumpster Dive Find

  1. Thank you lady for bringing so much creativity into my life. Without you, my world would be mono-color and geometrically perfect….which isn’t very fun

    Like

  2. Pingback: DIY Pretty Phone Charger Case | God. Food. Love. Peace.

Leave a Reply

