6 Satisfying Things I’ve Learned This Year

1) Going Off Course is Not Always Bad

Orange county hike
My friend and I went on a hike. What we thought was going to be a few miles, turned into a 7 mile hike, with the latter half all uphill. Already directionally challenged, we took a wrong turn and didn’t have any gut instinct to tell us to turn around. Even though we didn’t plan on those extra miles uphill in the heat, it was all worth it. We burned more calories, we had more laughs, and discovered new parts of the trail we had never seen before. Which can be paralleled to life. Sometimes those beaten paths that we don’t plan for are actually the best thing for us.

2) Playing with Your Food Can be Good

banana and peanut butter

Eating a banana vs. eating a banana that’s smiling at me. You can guess which one I choose. Call me silly, but food is one of my favorite pastimes and I appreciate when it incorporates art…and a smile.

3) Growing Sideways is Still Growing

Yorba Linda Park
I’m guilty of thinking that I have to make huge leaps and bounds in my growth with God, relationships, and personal life. That I have to magically sprout up like a generously watered tree over night. This weekend, I learned that it’s okay to grow sideways. By that, I mean, it’s okay to have days where I’m just existing. Where I’m just breathing. Where I’m just enjoying my day with a nap. It’s okay to relax, breathe, stretch, and grow sideways sometimes.

4) It’s Easy to Find Beauty in the Every Day

flowers

I went on a short stroll and noticed these lovely little petals resting on the earth. I couldn’t help but capture the duo of pink and purple with my camera. Such simple beauty can be found when you seek it.

5) The Beach Never Gets Old

Laguna Beach
Beach walks and God talks are the best – driving along the coast is a close second. I’ve lived in Southern California for two years, and I would be happy if every day was a beach day. But in this season, I will be thankful for the sparse times I’m able to see the waves hugging the sand.

6) Morning Meditations Rock My World

psalm 16:5

“Lord you alone are my portion and my cup.”Β Psalm 16:5

I’ve been aiming to start each morning talking with God. The days that I do, I notice there’s more peace in my spirit, more patience in my heart, and a natural outpouring of love that comes from His eternal goodness.

(A cup of delicious coffee never hurt anyone either.)

What are some things you’ve learned this year? Share with a comment to inspire others!

xO,

Bethany Michaels

2 thoughts on “6 Satisfying Things I’ve Learned This Year

Leave a Reply

